Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

en:services:storage_services:own_cloud:3_use_browser [2017/03/20 14:20]
therbst1 created
en:services:storage_services:own_cloud:3_use_browser [2017/03/20 14:21] (current)
therbst1 [Share contents through links]
Line 1: Line 1:
 +====== How to manage files with a browser ======
  
 +You can access your files on https://​owncloud.gwdg.de. Login with your Email and password.
 +
 +After successful login you are at the "​Home"​ level of your account and get the list of your folders as well as the menu on the left side.
 +
 +===== Creating folders, uploading files =====
 +
 +  * Click on the '​+'​-icon next to the house icon on the top of the page.
 +  * Select either '​Upload',​ '​Folder'​ or 'Text file'
 +  * Select '​Folder',​ name the new folder and press Enter to create it.
 +  * Select 'Text file', name the new file and press Enter to create it. A new editor window will open so you can start typing right away.
 +  * Select '​Upload'​ to push files to your owncloud folder. A file dialog will open, select a file, upload will start immediately.
 +
 +===== Deleting files, folders, restoring content =====
 +
 +  * To delete an individual file open the '​...'​-menu and click '​Delete'​. The file will be deleted immediately and disappear. Keep in mind that this also affects clients connected to this folder.
 +  * To delete multiple files at once use the checkbox on each file's icon and select them. Then click the '​Delete'​ icon in the top right corner. The files will be deleted immediately and disappear.
 +  * To recover a recently deleted file click on the "​Deleted files" with the trash bin icon in the bottom left corner of the screen. Clicking on the circle arrow will restore the file immediately. This also effects connected clients.
 +  * To permanently remove a recently deleted file click on the "​Deleted files" with the trash bin icon in the bottom left corner of the screen. Open the '​...'​-menu and click '​Delete'​. The file will be deleted permanently and disappear.
 +  * These actions also apply to directories. Connected clients will also delete the folder and remove all files. ** Use Caution: Even if a folder can be resored on the server, all clients will have to download it again. **
 +
 +===== Sharing content =====
 +
 +Content can be shared with specific users or anonymous access can be granted.
 +
 +==== Invite users to folders ====
 +
 +  - To start sharing a folder or file with another user click on the "​Share"​ icon. (it can also be found by opening the '​...'​-menu,​ clicking '​Details'​ and selecting the '​Sharing'​-tab to the right of the screen.)
 +  - You see a list of users that have access to this file or folder. To share it with a new user enter his or her Email address. Note that by default the new user gets Read/Write access to the shared item and receives an invitation email.
 +
 +==== Share contents through links ====
 +
 +  - To start sharing a folder or file with another user click on the "​Share"​ icon (It can also be found by opening the '​...'​-menu,​ clicking '​Details'​ and selecting the '​Sharing'​-tab in the right of the screen).
 +  - Click the 'Share link'​-checkbox to generate a link. You can set a password by using the '​Password protect'​-checkbox.
 +  - The link can be sent via Email by the owncloud server with the 'Email link to person'​-field.
 +  - An experation date for the link can be set.
 +  - Note that disabled or expired links are not deleted, only access to the shared content via link is removed.
 +  - To get an overview of your shared links and to remove them visit "​Shared with others"​ in the menu on the left. To see what others have shared with you click '​Shared with you'.